Latest news from the Port Revel Shiphandling Training Centre
Françoise Massard
Click on the photos to enlarge them

Nearly three years ago, I was fortunate enough to participate in a training course on crisis situation management (“extreme manœuvres”) involving four port pilots and two captains. It was dispensed by the famous Port Revel Centre, which has been the world leader for over forty years (read more about a typical course at the centre in this comprehensive article). I returned there recently, because two major events were celebrated on 30 April 2009: the addition of a new ship to the fleet and the extension of the lake. To keep pace with the constantly increasing number of trainees, Port Revel embarked last year on major works to extend its facilities and develop its fleet (investments totalling more than a million euros). Trainees will benefit from these improvements as of this year (the 2009 courses have just started - at the beginning of April - and will continue until the end of October).


The idea that prevailed in the 1960s, when Port Revel was created on a shallow lake on the Chambaran plateau (in Isère département between Grenoble and Lyon), is every bit as strong today. Better than any numerical simulator, this system uses model ships that are built to 1:25 scale and manœuvred on a specially developed lake (with waves, currents, winds and shallows) with the pilots on board, giving them “the same sensations as in the real world”, to use the trainees’ own words. As ever, the new Port Revel development programme, which got underway in October 2007, had the same objective of meeting the needs of port pilots and ship captains. With the boom in maritime trade and increasing ship dimensions and tonnages, experience and skills are more vital than ever to manœuvre these gigantic ships safety in the vicinity of ports and coasts, where many hazards lie in wait.

Having extended its lake, which now measures 5 ha (with 70% consisting of shallows), doubled the number of quays, and installed additional marine current-generating systems, Port Revel can now cover an extremely wide variety of situations and accommodate 10 to 12 trainees per week, compared with eight previously.



The OTELLO, Port Revel's thirteenth scale model


Hence, on 30 April 2009, about a hundred visitors from all over France gathered at Sogreah’s Shiphandling Training Centre at Port Revel for the naming of its new ship: a model of the CMA CGM OTELLO, built to 1:25 scale, as are the twelve other models at Port Revel. The scale model, a faithful reproduction of a 334 m long container carrier capable of transporting 8 500 TEU, represents the actual ship down to its slightest detail in terms of manœuvring and behaviour at sea. Thanks to this new model, sailors can now train on a ship that replicates the new giants sailing the high seas today.


This is the “real” CMA CGM OTELLO, which I photographed in the evening of 28.12.2006 as she sailed out of Marsaxlokk harbour in Malta. Like her sister ship, the CMA CGM NABUCCO, she belongs to the series reflecting the names of famous "Operas".

CMA CGM OTELLO (Marseilles) - IMO 9299628 - Call signal FMEJ - Container carrier - 334,07x42,80x24,60 m - Max draft 14,5 m - Windage 10 000 m2 - GRT 91 410 - NT 48 921 - DWT 101 810 t - P 68 640 kW (engine MAN-B&W 12K98MC) - S 25 nds - Cap. 8 488 TEU (incl. 700 reefers)- Constr. 2005 (Hyundai Heavy Industries, Ulsan, South Korea) - Manager CMA CGM The French Line - Sailing under French flag.

The first tests carried out with the scale model showed that Port Revel has complete mastery of modelling techniques as the real ship's captain, who recently carried out the “sea trials” of the model, said that it imitated perfectly the typical behaviour of his own vessel… right down to its tiniest flaws! Further proof that 'Mother Nature (in the form of hydraulics)' is at work on the model as on the real ship. The realism of scale models is unequalled and for the moment has not been bettered by any other form of simulation.




The naming of the OTELLO


As with her “elder sister”, named at the end of 2005, the traditional bottle of Champagne was broken across her bow. Long live the scale model!




After the naming, we went over to the building housing the classrooms and offices to listen to the speech given by Jacques Gaillard, Chairman and CEO of Sogreah (the French acronym for “Grenoble hydraulics studies and applications company”). An aperitif and relaxed lunch rounded off the ceremony.


The speech given by Mr Gaillard (opposite) gives me the opportunity to recall a few facts about Sogreah, created when turbines manufacturer Neyrpic (founded exactly a century ago) was transformed into a limited company in 1955. The Sogreah group, which regained its independence in 1998 after a management buy-out, acts as both consultant and engineer in the fields of water, the environment, energy and urban development. Its head office is in Grenoble, but its 1200 engineers and technicians are spread throughout 30 offices in France (regional divisions in Grenoble, Nantes, Marseilles, Paris and Toulouse) and 15 international subsidiaries (Europe, Near and Middle East, Africa and Asia). The company has enjoyed regular, healthy growth over the past ten years and generated turnover in excess of €100M in 2008 (44% of which on international projects). It has references in over 170 countries.

The afternoon: “sea trials” of the newly named ship!



Guests also took the opportunity for a trip on some of the other scale models, which are all equipped with indicators giving rudder angle, engine speed, ship speed and heading, wind speed and direction, etc. Most of them are also equipped with bow and stern thrusters and fully operational anchors.



The boat hangar has also been extended to keep pace with the growing fleet





A larger, even more “realistic” lake


The 2008-2009 winter break was put to good use to extend the Revel lake, creating new zones with currents (50% of the lake is now subject to currents, compared with 35% prior to the works), new shallow areas (70% of the lake now has a simulated depth of less than 27.5 m, compared with 50% previously), two new locks (including one simulating the width of the Panama canal, i.e. 55 m) and numerous new quays (there are now more than 50).


Lake before and after extension


A few shots of the lake taken from the new embankment



The 200 or so trainees expected in the coming months will be able to benefit from these new facilities, on both the conventional courses and the “tailor-made” ones put together by the centre’s highly experienced and enthusiastic instructors to suit pilots’ specific needs.



During the course I attended in July 2006, I announced that a third escort tug had been ordered. Named the VELOX, it arrived in Port Revel in July 2007. It was manufactured by Ron Burchett in Vancouver and is a 1:25 scale model of a 37 m tug equipped with a Voith Schneider propeller and Turbo Fin, designed by Robert Allan in Vancouver and the property of Ostensjo in Norway.


To conclude...

Port Revel, which has thus inherited more than a century of experience from Sogreah in the fields of scale models, numerical simulation and port design and construction and was the world’s first centre of this type, has seen more than 6000 trainees come through its doors (mainly from the USA, Canada and Europe) since it first opened in 1967. Many of them are coming back for the second (and even third) time in their career. An ever closer partnership is forming between the instructors and the trainees, who use the facilities as it suits them. Special courses and arrangements are set up in close collaboration, e.g. manœuvring courses on escort tugs for the San Francisco pilots.



Lastly, I would not like to leave Port Revel without taking another look at some places of interest in this attractive region, the Chambaran nature park. I have already mentioned a few places that should not be missed. Today’s recommendation is particularly aimed at music-loving sailors, because I am alluding to the nearby town of La Côte Saint André, where Hector Berlioz was born in December 1803 and spent the first 18 years of his life. He is best known as a composer, but he also worked as a journalist (notably at the Journal des Débats) and writer (his Mémoires were published posthumously in 1870) - less well-known facets of his life. He was sent to study medicine in Paris by his father - himself a doctor in La Côte Saint André - but soon abandoned his dissection classes and began visiting the music rooms at the Paris Conservatoire!

The house where Hector Berlioz was born (street and courtyard views), built around 1680 but thoroughly modified in the 18th century
It became the Musée Berlioz in 1935 and a listed historic monument in 1942
Far right: the “Grand Salon” © Musée Berlioz (taking photos inside the house is forbidden)

 

Another illustrious figure from this “capital of the Bièvre region” is Dutch landscape painter Johan Barthold Jongkind (b. 1819, Netherlands; d. 1891, La Côte Saint André, having settled there in 1878). He was a forerunner of impressionism and had a great influence on the French impressionist movement.
Right: one of his paintings, The Port of Honfleur (1863))
Lastly, for food-loving sailors, the Château Louis XI (built for Philip of Savoy, destroyed during the French Wars of Religion and completely rebuilt in the 16th century) now houses a… chocolate museum!

Centre de Port Revel 38870 Saint-Pierre de Bressieux (France) – www.portrevel.com
Tél. 33 (0)4 74 20 02 40 – Fax 33 (0)4 74 20 12 29 – port.revel@sogreah.fr

© Françoise Massard
 
  www.cargos-paquebots.net

Du nouveau au Centre de formation à la manœuvre des navires de Port Revel
Françoise Massard
Cliquez sur les photos pour les agrandir

J'ai eu la chance de participer, il y a bientôt trois ans, à un stage de formation à la gestion des situations de crise ("manœuvres extrêmes") de quatre pilotes portuaires et de deux capitaines, formation dispensée par le célèbre Centre de Port Revel, leader internationalement connu depuis plus de 40 ans (le déroulement d'un stage-type dans ce centre d'entraînement à la manœuvre des navires a fait l'objet d'un dossier complet). J'y suis retournée récemment, car deux événements majeurs ont été fêtés le 30 avril 2009 : l'entrée en flotte d'une nouvelle maquette et l'agrandissement du lac. En effet, pour faire face à la croissance constante du nombre de stagiaires, Port Revel s'est lancé, l'année dernière, dans d'importants travaux d'extension de ses installations et de développement de sa flotte (plus d’un million d’euros d’investissement) dont vont pouvoir bénéficier les stagiaires dès cette année (les cours 2009 viennent de commencer, début avril, et vont se poursuivre jusqu'à fin octobre).


L’idée qui a présidé, dans les années 1960, à la création de Port Revel, sur un plan d’eau peu profond du plateau de Chambaran (dans le Nord Isère), conserve aujourd’hui toute sa force. Mieux qu’aucun simulateur numérique, ce système, qui utilise des maquettes de navires (échelle 1:25) sur un plan d’eau spécialement aménagé (avec houles, courants, vents et hauts fonds), permet aux pilotes embarqués de « retrouver les mêmes sensations que dans le monde réel », selon les propos des stagiaires eux-mêmes. Lancé en octobre 2007, le nouveau programme d’aménagement de Port Revel visait encore et toujours ce même objectif de répondre aux besoins des pilotes portuaires et commandants de bord. Avec l’explosion des échanges maritimes et l’augmentation de la dimension et du tonnage des navires, l’expérience et le savoir-faire des pilotes sont en effet plus que jamais déterminants pour manœuvrer en toute sécurité ces gigantesques navires dans les zones portuaires et côtières où les dangers sont multiples.
En procédant à l’extension du plan d’eau, qui atteint désormais 5 ha (dont 70 % en eaux peu profondes), en doublant le nombre de quais, et en installant des systèmes supplémentaires de génération des courants marins, Port Revel peut maintenant couvrir des situations extrêmement variées, et accueillir 10 à 12 stagiaires par semaine, contre 8 auparavant.


L'OTELLO, la treizième maquette de Port Revel


Ainsi, ce 30 avril 2009, une centaine d’invités venus de toute la France étaient reçus au Centre d’Entraînement à la Manœuvre des Navires de Sogreah, à Port Revel, à l’occasion du baptême de son nouveau navire : la maquette du CMA CGM OTELLO, construite à l’échelle du 1 :25, comme les douze autres maquettes de Port Revel. Le modèle réduit, fidèle représentation d’un porte-conteneurs de 334 m de long et capable de transporter 8 500 evp, reproduit le navire réel dans ses moindres détails de manœuvre et de comportement à la mer. Grâce à cette nouvelle maquette, les marins disposent désormais d’un navire représentatif des nouveaux géants qui sillonnent les mers.

Voici le "vrai" CMA CGM OTELLO que j'avais photographié le 28.12.2006 alors qu'il quittait, en soirée, le port de Marsaxlokk (Malte). Il appartient, comme le CMA CGM NABUCCO – dont il est un sister ship – à la série dite des "Opéras".
CMA CGM OTELLO (Marseille) - IMO 9299628 - Indicatif d'appel FMEJ - Porte-conteneurs - 334,07x42,80x24,60 m - TEmax 14,5 m - Prise au vent 10 000 m2 - JB 91 410 - JN 48 921 - PL 101 810 t - P 68 640 kW (mot. MAN-B&W 12K98MC) - V 25 nds - Cap. 8 488 evp (dont 700 reefers)- Constr. 2005 (Hyundai Heavy Industries, Ulsan, Corée du Sud) - Gérant CMA CGM The French Line - Pav. FRA.

Les premiers essais effectués avec le modèle réduit ont montré que Port Revel maîtrise parfaitement les techniques de modélisation puisque le commandant du vrai navire, qui a effectué récemment les "essais à la mer" de la maquette, a retrouvé tous les comportements typiques de son navire sur le modèle réduit... y compris les micro-défauts ! Une nouvelle preuve que "Dame Nature (hydraulique)" est à l’œuvre sur la maquette comme sur le vrai navire. Le réalisme des modèles réduits est inégalable et n’a pour l’instant été surpassé par aucun autre moyen de simulation.




Le baptême de l'OTELLO


Comme pour son "aîné", baptisé fin 2005, la traditionnelle bouteille de Champagne fut lancée contre la coque de l'OTELLO. Baptême réussi, longue vie à la maquette.



Après le baptême proprement dit, nous nous sommes dirigés vers le bâtiment qui abrite salles de cours et bureaux, pour écouter l'allocution de Jacques Gaillard, Président Directeur Général du Groupe Sogreah (Société grenobloise d'études et d'applications hydrauliques). Puis un apéritif et un sympathique déjeuner champêtre clôturèrent cette cérémonie du 30 avril 2009.

L'allocution de Jacques Gaillard (ci-contre), PDG de Sogreah, me donne l'occasion de rappeler ce qu'est cette entreprise héritière, depuis 1955, de Neyrpic (société créée il y a juste un siècle). Le groupe Sogreah, devenu indépendant en 1998 après reprise par ses cadres. intervient, à la fois en conseil et en ingénierie, dans les domaines de l’eau, de l’énergie, de l’environnement et de l’aménagement urbain. Son siège social est à Grenoble, mais ses 1 200 ingénieurs et techniciens sont répartis dans 30 agences en France (Directions régionales à Grenoble, Nantes, Marseille, Paris et Toulouse) et 15 filiales dans le monde (Europe, Proche et Moyen-Orient, Afrique et Asie). Cette société, qui a connu une croissance forte et régulière depuis 10 ans, a un chiffre d'affaires qui dépasse les 100 M€ en 2008 (dont 44 % réalisés à l'international). Elle dispose de références dans plus de 170 pays.

L'après-midi, "essais à la mer" du tout nouveau baptisé !


Quelques invités en profitent également pour naviguer à bord d'autres modèles réduits... tous équipés d'indicateurs d'angle de barre, de tours/minute, de vitesse et de cap du navire, de vitesse et de direction du vent, etc. La plupart des navires sont également équipés de propulseurs d'étrave et de poupe, et d'ancres parfaitement opérationnelles.


Le hangar à bateaux a également été agrandi afin de tenir compte du développement de la flotte.




Un lac encore plus grand et encore plus "réaliste"

L'hiver 2008-2009 a en effet été mis a profit pour agrandir le lac de Revel, avec de nouvelles zones de courant (50 % du lac est maintenant soumis aux courants, contre 35 % avant extension), de nouvelles zones en eau peu profonde (70% du lac a maintenant des fonds simulés de moins de 27,5 m, contre 50 % avant travaux), deux nouvelles écluses (dont une au gabarit de Panama , soit 55 m) et une multitude de nouveaux quais (il y a maintenant près de 50 quais).


Lac avant et après extension

Quelques photos (partielles) du lac vu de la nouvelle digue


Les quelque 200 stagiaires attendus dans les mois à venir vont pouvoir bénéficier de ces nouvelles installations, tant pour des entraînements classiques que pour des stages « à la carte » élaborés, en fonction des besoins des pilotes, par les instructeurs très expérimentés et très motivés du centre.



Lors de mon stage en juillet 2006, j'annonçais la commande d'un troisième remorqueur d'escorte. Celui-ci, le VELOX, a en effet rejoint Port Revel en juillet 2007. Fabriqué par Ron Burchett à Vancouver, c'est le modèle au 1:25 d'un remorqueur de 37 m équipé d'une propulsion et d'un Turbo Fin Voith Schneider, conçu par Robert Allan à Vancouver et propriété d'Ostensjo en Norvège.


En guise de conclusion...

Port Revel, qui a ainsi hérité de plus d’un siècle d’expérience de Sogreah dans le domaine des modèles réduits, de la simulation numérique, de la conception et construction portuaire, et qui fut le premier centre de ce type à être créé dans le monde, a accueilli plus de 6 000 stagiaires depuis son ouverture en 1967 (surtout en provenance des USA, du Canada et d'Europe). Beaucoup d’entre eux reviennent pour la seconde (et même pour la troisième) fois dans leur carrière. Il s'établit d'ailleurs un partenariat de plus en plus étroit entre les formateurs et les stagiaires qui utilisent les installations à leur convenance : des stages et des équipements spéciaux sont conçus en étroite collaboration avec eux, comme par exemple les stages de manœuvres avec les remorqueurs d'escorte avec les pilotes de San Francisco.


Enfin, je ne voudrais pas quitter Port Revel sans... un nouveau clin d'œil touristique dans cette belle région du Parc naturel de Chambaran. J'avais déjà évoqué quelques sites à ne pas manquer. C'est aux marins mélomanes que s'adresse plus particulièrement mon propos aujourd'hui, puisque je vais faire allusion à la bourgade iséroise de La Côte-Saint-André qui a vu naître en décembre 1803 (et grandir... il y passa ses dix-huit premières années) Hector Berlioz, compositeur mais aussi journaliste (au Journal des Débats en particulier) et écrivain (ses Mémoires paraîtront en 1870 à titre posthume), volets moins connus de ce personnage. Parti à Paris pour y étudier la science d'Hippocrate, poussé par son père lui-même médecin à La Côte-Saint-André, il abandonna très vite les salles de dissection au profit des salles de musique du Conservatoire de Paris !
Maison natale d'Hector Berlioz (côté rue et côté cours), construite vers 1680, mais totalement remaniée au XVIIIe siècle.
Devenue le "Musée Berlioz" en 1935, elle est classée "Monument historique" depuis 1942.
Photo de droite : "Grand Salon" © Musée Berlioz (les photos intérieures étant interdites au Public)
 
Autre personnage illustre de cette "capitale de la Bièvre" : le peintre paysagiste hollandais Johan Barthold Jongkind (1819, Pays-Bas - 1891, La Côte-Saint-André où il s'était installé en 1878). Ce pré-impressionniste eut une grande influence sur l'école impressionniste française.
Ci-contre, l'une de ses toiles : le Port de Honfleur (1863)
Enfin, pour les marins mélomanes... et gourmets, le "Château Louis XI" (construit pour Philippe de Savoie, détruit pendant les guerres de religion et entièrement rebâti au XVIe siècle) qui abrite le... Musée du Chocolat !

Centre de Port Revel 38870 Saint-Pierre de Bressieux (France) – www.portrevel.com
Tél. 33 (0)4 74 20 02 40 – Fax 33 (0)4 74 20 12 29 – port.revel@sogreah.fr

© Françoise Massard
 
  www.cargos-paquebots.net